Atlanta Alumni – AAC

Large Chapter – Established February 27, 1924 – Chapter Website 

Meeting Dates: 3rd Thursday of every month
Airport Marriott Hotel
4711 Best Road Atlanta, Georgia 30337

The Atlanta, Georgia Alumni Chapter was established February 22, 1924 making it the second oldest chapter South of the Mason Dixon Line. Dr. Hamilton M. Holmes, Sr. was initiated into the fraternity by the members of Pi Chapter located at Morehouse College and served as the first Polemarch. Dr. Albert B. Cooper (Kappa), a prominent Atlanta dentist served as the first Vice Polemarch. Among the charter members were James E. Stamps, J.R. Pinkett (Pi), Byron H. Gentry (Pi), and G.E. Wilson (Alpha), William R. Graham (Delta), Robert E. Owens (Xi), Charles E. Wilson, Theodore Pinkney.

Executive Commitee

  • Polemarch: Jamal Grooms
  • Vice Polemarch: Norman Johnson
  • Keeper of Records: Chris Nuckles
  • Keeper of Exchequer: Booker Williams

Throughout the years, the Atlanta Alumni Chapter has served as a shining example of what committed Kappa Men can do. We are extremely active in the community holding an annual Student of the Year Program and 500 Klub that awards scholarships to deserving students. We also sponsor various local Guide Right Program activities including clothing, food and blood drives in addition to the Habitat for Humanity Project.

The Atlanta Alumni Chapter is one of the largest in all of Kappa Alpha Psi. We have consistently been the home of outstanding Kappa men who epitomize the fraternity’s motto of “Achievement in Every Field of Human Endeavor.” Amongst these men are Carl Ware and the late Attorney Donald L. Hollowell , holders of the Laurel Wreath Award, the highest award presented in Kappa Alpha Psi; W. Kenneth Jackson, Sr. and Julius A. “Skipper” Lockett, holders of the Elder Watson Diggs Award, the second highest award presented in Kappa Alpha Psi; Past Jr. Grand Vice Polemarch and Guy L. Grant Awardee Reginald Jackson; Kelvin Sigler, holder of the Byron K. Armstrong Award, an award presented for outstanding undergraduate achievement; Superior Court Judge Marvin Arrington, Dekalb County Judge Mark A. Scott and Atlanta Mayor M. Kasim Reed. The Atlanta Alumni Chapter is also the home chapter of: Past Grand Board of Directors Member and Past Southeastern Province Polemarch Mel Solomon, Grand Board of Directors Member Dr. Stanley J. Pritchett, Sr., Past Southeastern Province Polemarch James E. Freeman, Southeastern Province Keeper of Exchequer Charles E. Bell, Past Southeastern Province Historian and National Undergraduate Chapter Advisor of the Year Willie L. Todd, Jr., Grand Chapter Awards and Achievement Commission Member and Past Southeastern Province Awards Committee Chairman Ron Davis; and Joseph R. Jenkins  Awardees William “Sonny” Walker, Roscoe Adams, Zeddie Perry II, and Ron Davis.